The Nursing home Visit

 

Recently we went to visit a nursing home because some people there don’t have any grandchildren or visitors . Before we arrived I expected that the nursing home would just be a one story place with a couple of arpartments, a dining room and a hall but actually it was a lot more modern than I thought it would be. Whilst we were on the the bus I was feeling a bit nervous about what my buddy would be like but a bit excited to meet her.

The things we did were after we got there we went into a building that happened to be the nursing home. Once we were all in the building everyone walked through a corridor for a couple of minutes looking at all the different signs in the building. Eventually our teacher lead us into a ginormous hall. It had all of the elder residents sitting in chairs along side the walls. Everyone walked through to the end of the hall and sat down. After that two of the students played a piece of music and we were allocated to our buddies to talk to for while.

What I learned about my buddy was that she loves to paint china and do arts and craft a bit like my grandmother. Before she retired she used to be a fashion model for smaller people. Sometimes when she was working travellers would come by and give her a new piece material to make something with. She also told me that she has three granddaughters. The oldest was twenty one the second youngest was sixteen and the youngest was twelve.

What I enjoyed the most was having a conversation with someone who is a lot older than me. Another thing I enjoyed was finding the differences and similarities between my family and her family. One of the best things about it was getting so excited before we got there on the bus.

2 thoughts on “The Nursing home Visit”

  1. Hello Laura, I loved your post. I especially liked that you wrote about how you got along with your buddy and got to hear about her life, my grandmother has a keen interest in arts and crafts as well. I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the nursing home and I’m looking forward to hearing about future visits.

    When are you going back next and what are you most looking forward to?

  2. Hello Laura, this was a really interesting blog. I could picture the long hallway of the nursing home in my mind. Your buddy sounds like a fascinating lady. I wonder what being a fashion model was like when she was young. That would be a great thing to ask her about next time. It sounds like she may have been a good dressmaker too.
    I agree it is very interesting to compare your family to someone else’s family.

    What does her 12yo grand daughter like to do?

    From Andy (Laura’s mum)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *