Year Five Market Reflection

This year during the Year five Market we have used lots of positive learner attributes. I particularly enjoyed the actual Market day. I learned many new things too, especially about print ads and TV ads. Print ads need to be eye-catching and colourful and TV ads can often have a story in them. When we made our own ads it was actually much more difficult than you’d think. I also expanded my knowledge about graphs and showing and collecting data. I learned many new things about the people in our group as well.

Our group also experienced lots of challenges leading up to the Market day and on the actual day. One of them was getting all of our products finished. The dream catchers took time to make and were very delicate. To get them done quickly a lot of people in the group helped make them after their products were finished. Other challenges we had were letting people know what was for sale and selling some of the products. But we persevered and were patient, which worked well.

As you may know the Year five Market raises money for the JMB Foundation. One of the tasks we did for the Market was to write a letter to someone to try and persuade them to either come to the Market, or donate something. Many people wrote to the JMB Foundation, James Macready-Bryan and his mother. So for the first time James Macready-Bryan (who was a past Carey student) came to the Market. We had lots of other visitors as well, including my mum.

Our group used many positive learner attributes too. We mostly had to persevere and be patient. Like when we had to persevere to finish our presentation and products. Or when we had to be patient when we were waiting for people to come to our stall or make a decision about whether or not to buy our products. Two of the biggest attributes we used were collaboration and communication. We had to collaborate and communicate effectively otherwise our stall might have been quite chaotic and not have worked so well.

Our team grew quite a bit too. I have learned so much about the people in our group. I’ve got to know them and their personalities really well. I understand more about how they think and how they like to work in a team now. Another thing I learned was how to communicate better. I had to try my best to communicate or I might not of known what was happening and the rest of our team might not of known what I was thinking and doing. Now I feel much more comfortable with speaking and asking questions.

I had lots highlights from the marvellous Market too. I especially liked selling products. This was a new experience for me and was great fun and very exciting. I also enjoyed making the graphs of our survey data because I liked looking at the results from our surveys. Some of the results also surprised me. Overall, I quite enjoyed the Market.

What was your favourite part of the Market and why?

One thought on “Year Five Market Reflection”

  1. Hi Laura,
    Wow, that was a great post. You described the market day so well, that i could imagine the hustke and bustle, and the colour and movement all over again. It’s funny how important good comunication skills are to just aboit everything we do. I remember the dream catchers well – they were incredibly delicate and fiddly to make, but very pretty.
    I know how much you enjoyed the whole year 5 market concept, so my favourite part was seeing you on the day with a big smile on your face calling out to customers, collecting money, laughing with your stallholders and having an absolutely great time. Most importantly it was all for such an good cause.

    What was tour favourite item for sale?

    Andy (Laura’s mum)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *