5DF Toonallook Camp

In year five we went on a camp to Toonallook. We did lots of activities on camp like kayaking and bike-riding. One of the activities we did was called the Toona Challenge. It tested your mental and physical abilities with an obstacle course, a puzzle, two bike-riding challenges and another challenge that involved a hoop. For one of the three nights we were at Toonallook we went camping on expo, which was very exciting. While we were there we played a game called empire which I really enjoyed. I liked sleeping in the tents too. One word I would use to describe camp is unexpected.

My favourite activity we did at Toonallook was the photo rally, which was run by the year elevens. This was the activity where you were given a close-up photo of something around Toonallook and you had to try and find that thing. Then, when you found that thing there would be two letters near it. After that you would go back and record these letters next to the number of the photo on your sheet and get another photo. I enjoyed this because I found it a bit like a puzzle. I also liked it because I got to spend time with my best friend and I got to be with someone who I didn’t know very well (we did the photo rally in groups of two, three or sometimes four, that is why I could do this).

One of the challenges I had on camp was just getting used to things, like how they banged the gong when it was time to come in together. Or for another example, getting used to having all of the different duties we had, like washing up or camp maintenance. 

One P.L.A. I used on camp is knowledge. I used this when we went kayaking. Since I had been kayaking before I had knowledge and knew what to do. Even though the Outdoor Ed people told us how to kayak it was still helpful to of been kayaking before and have knowledge of what to do. Another P.L.A. I used was reflection. I used reflection during and after camp because I reflected and thought a lot about what happened on camp and the activities. 

Did you do anything that you had never done before on camp? If so what was it and how did it go?

3 thoughts on “5DF Toonallook Camp”

  1. Well done! Lots of new memories created
    I am glad you enjoyed the camp and activities and having the chance to kayak again
    I loved camp and for the first time ever, I got to see an echidna!
    I hope you enjoyed seeing the Koalas and bike riding.

  2. What a great blog post, also one thing I’ve never done before was expo. It went well, even though not everyone in the tent enjoyed it. It was my favourite part of camp. Well done.

  3. Hi Laura! My name’s Lilly, this sounds very fun! I went to a camp also, Camp Cheerio. I made a post about it if you want to check it out! Here: http://26lillyj.edublogs.org/ (btw if you comment I might not reply because sometimes it doesn’t let me) have a nice day!!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *